Travelling the World Without Leaving the Kitchen

IT’S MY BIRTHDAY!!! And in order to celebrate my birthday I decided to bake my favorite dessert – cheesecake. But not just any cheesecake, I wanted to bake an Oreo Cheesecake.

I realize that this recipe is not technically from around the world because it’s from America, but it is my birthday and I wanted to make something that I love. I have made a lot of cheesecakes before, but never an Oreo one so I figured I would try it out.

Before I even started looking up recipes, I went straight to the history of cheesecake and I found some pretty interesting things.

Cheesecake actually dates back all the way to Ancient Greece, where it was seen as a source of energy. They served it to athletes before the first Olympic Games. It was also used as a traditional wedding cake at the time. However, it wasn’t until the 18th century that cheesecake started to look like it does today.

There were a couple different recipes that I was debating between, but in the end I went with the Kraft recipe because I have made other Kraft cheesecakes before and they turned out well. Below are some pictures of different steps throughout the recipe:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It’s a pretty simple recipe to follow. I had trouble crushing the Oreo’s for the bottom of the cheesecake, but eventually I just put them in a bag and took out the rolling pin to crush them and that seemed to work fine. I also found it difficult when I had to chop more Oreo’s for on the top because they were too soft and the icing was coming out the sides. I would suggest freezing the Oreo’s if you are going to make this recipe.

Only one of my other siblings likes cheesecake and when he found out I was making an Oreo one, he came home right away! The cheesecake was a success and even though I had to make my own birthday cake, I still enjoyed it very much (baking and eating it).

Leave a Reply

