Travelling the World Without Leaving the Kitchen

As I continue travelling the world through dessert recipes, this week I found myself in England enjoying tea with a slice of Victoria Sponge Cake (a favorite of Queen Victoria). For more information on the history of this dessert, you can click here.

After searching for popular English recipes this is the one I came across most often so I figured that I should give it a try. There were many different recipes to make this and in the end I decided on a recipe from Eat Live Run, which you can find here.

As I read through the recipe it all seemed quite simple until I read that I needed a knob of butter. What is a knob of butter? one might ask. I simply did not know, so I looked it up and found out that it’s just a tablespoon or two.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After getting all the ingredients out I started measuring and mixing. Once it was in the oven I was putting all the ingredients away and I noticed something. I forgot to add an ingredient! The vanilla extract was sitting on the counter unopened and I couldn’t remember adding it to the mix.

The cakes were already in the oven so I couldn’t change anything now; I just had to hope that it would turn out alright. I looked at the recipe again, however, and after going over the directions I realized that it never said when to add the vanilla. It was in the ingredients list, but not in the actual directions, so I figured it wouldn’t be a big deal.

While the cakes were cooking I cut up fresh strawberries. I know the recipe said to use jam in the middle but I wanted to add some fresh fruit too. After the cakes had completely cooled, I started with a thin layer of jam on the top of the first cake and then added the fresh strawberries on top of that before adding the whipped cream and the other cake to make it look like a stuffed cookie.

When I added the top cake everything started coming out the sides! I wasn’t sure what to do about this so I finished quickly, covered it and put it in the fridge hoping that if it got cold everything would stop sliding out.

When I looked at it later most of it had still fallen out, but the taste was still amazing!

Leave a Reply

