Travelling the World Without Leaving the Kitchen

After finally deciding that I would write a blog on different things that I bake, I had to decide what to bake. I wanted to try different recipes from around the world. I started by looking at different desserts from Holland (being that my mom’s side of the family is from there, I figured I would try something out). My mom and my grandma used to make boterkoek (which literally translates to butter cake) when I was smaller and I liked it then so I figured I should try making it myself.

I started by finding a recipe online. I like to use the website allrecipes.com because there are certain features that I like about it. The first one being that you can change the serving size and the amount of ingredients all change. The second thing I like about this website is that it has the nutritional information after the recipe. So, here is the recipe that I decided to use: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/dutch-boterkoek/ .

The recipe is pretty straight forward and I already had all the ingredients in my house so I figured I would give it a try.  It started out pretty good until I had to mix the butter, so if you decide to make this recipe yourself I would make sure the butter is room temperature before mixing it. After I finally got the butter mixed the rest went pretty smoothly.

After dinner I cut the cake, but I thought it looked very plain and boring so I added some whipped cream and raspberries to the plate. The cake was a great success and everyone seemed to enjoy it. My mom told me that she had never tasted one so lemony before and we figured out that my grandma used to make it with slivered almonds and almond extract instead of lemon zest and vanilla extract. So either way you make it, it will still taste delicious.

The only complaint came from myself and it was that it was baked for too long. The recipe said to leave it in the oven for about 35 minutes. I took it out after 32 minutes, but I still thought that the edges were too cooked. If I bake this recipe again, I would probably only leave it in the oven for 30 minutes. Overall, it turned out to be a success and everyone in my family cannot wait to see what I decide to bake next week!

Leave a Reply

